The shortlisted teams pose for a photo with Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow

By V. Sivaji

Five international teams companies have been shortlisted to design the three reclaimed islands in the Penang South Islands (PSI) project, following a RM2.5 million master-planning competition held since last November.

The teams are Bjarke Ingels Group (Denmark) with Hijjas Architects and Planners; Foster + Partners (UK) with GDP Architects Sdn Bhd; MVRDV (Netherlands) with aLM Architects; Tekuma Frenchman Urban Design (United States) with Eowon Architects; and UN Studio (Netherlands) with Architects 61 Sdn Bhd.

Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow that the teams were were selected from a list of 27 chosen from an initial 124 submissions.

Chow added that the five teams were chosen based on their capability and experience in similar projects.

A honorarium of US$125,000 (RM508,000) will be paid to each of the five teams.

“One design will be selected by next month and the team given the chance to be the “lead masterplan designer” of the proposed three islands covering 1,821ha.

“They will also get to propose the names for the islands which, for now, will be collectively known as the Penang South Islands,” said Chow.

The winners will also help the government decide what activities should be carried out on the islands.

The state government wants Island A – near the airport runway – to be largely devoted to industries, although all three islands will have mixed development projects.

The competition was jointly organised with the Malaysian Institute of Architects (Northern Chapter) and the Board of Architects Malaysia.