Tan Sri SA Vigneswaran installed as the chancellor of AIMST University

By V. Sivaji

The AIMST University in Sungai Petani, Kedah celebrated the appointment of their new chancellor and also its 14th convocation ceremony recently.

Tan Sri Dr SA Vigneswaran who is also the president of the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) and chairman of Maju Institute of Educational Development (MIED) was installed as the new chancellor of AIMST
University in a brief ceremony.

Also present were the board of directors of the university along with trustees.

Some 692 graduates received their certificates in the momentous ceremony which was attended by their parents, family members and well-wishers.

Leading the AIMST University team was vice chancellor, Prof Datuk Dr John Antony Xavier, Datuk Selva Kumar Mookiah, Dato Amerendran Perumal, Dato Sri Dr Devamany Kishnasamy among others.

“The late chancellor, Tun S. Samy Vellu built AIMST University almost single-handedly. He was a leader, mentor and guide to all. We will continue Tun Samy Vellu’s vision and leadership, building on AIMST University’s excellent standing and collaborating with reputable international universities.

“I also take this opportunity to thank the Government of Malaysia for the annual grant of RM25 million, which will offer more scholarships for deserving students and infrastructure development.

“We also plan to offer new courses and to install solar panels in collaboration with TNB which will help reduce our overhead costs for energy.

“Other plans are to expand its wings by establishing a new campus in Kuala Lumpur and a branch abroad.

In the meanwhile, top student, Foo Jia Yee, was awarded the University Gold Medal Award from the Faculty of Dentistry.

Top student Foo JIa Yee

Khaw Shui Ying was awarded the Best Medical student award and Lim Ee Xin the Best Dental Technology Student Award.

Foo who hails from Butterworth thanks her parents and lecturers for her impressive results.

AIMST University was established in 2001 and offers a total of 40 programmes accredited by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA) through its foundation school and seven faculties.

They welcome students from all races and religion to pursue their education in a world-class facility.